Pass The Popcorn, Please…

4

October 3, 2008 by esarsea

I’m not really a movie buff, but occasionally I will sit down and watch one on TV.  Generally speaking, I enjoy the temporary escape they provide more than I do any any specific acting performance or storyline. Recently however I did stumble across one that really stuck with me. That movie was the 1997 made-for-tv thriller Intensity starring John C. McGinley and Molly Parker. Based in the book by Dean Koontz, Intensity lives up to it’s name in every way.

John C. McGinley is perhaps best known today for his portrayal of Dr. Perry Cox on the NBC (and later, ABC) sitcom, Scrubs.  In Intensity, McGinley plays a sociopathic killer by name of Edgler Foreman Vess – and his portrayal of this character is both chilling and brilliant. All the youtube clips I could find for the movie had the embedding feature disabled, but here’s a link you can follow to watch an 8 min. 36 sec. scene from Intensity.

I won’t spoil the movie for you with an in-depth review (well, actually that’s my way of saying I’m lazy, and don’t want to write that much). But if you find yourself surfing the channel guide on TV and happen to see Intensity listed, it’s well worth watching and/or recording on your DVR.

4 thoughts on “Pass The Popcorn, Please…

  1. rsr348 says:

    I’ll keep this one in mind when channel surfing on the rare nights I have the capacity to stay awake past ten. With all the channels on DirecTV, it’s still hard to find a good movie when you want one, other than the pay per views. We rented “21” a few weeks ago. Excellent choice for card players and Vegas fans, or people who have taken a big chance in life…. or wish they had or hadn’t. I enjoyed it, except I thought the last half hour became rather cheezy and overdone, as so many movies do.

  2. Da Goddess says:

    I remember the book, so maybe I’ll have to check this out. I tend to hate movies based on books I’ve read, but if you say this one works, then there you go.

  3. Stu says:

    It’s been my experience that books always seem to be better than movies based on them. I didn’t read this book so maybe that’s why I found the movie so entertaining…I didn’t have any expectations going in, and had no prior knowledge of the plot or storyline.

    Sometimes I wonder if I would prefer the movie over the book if I saw the movie first, for the same reason?

  4. Da Goddess says:

    Koontz and Stephen King are both tough authors whose books are tough to base movies on. There have been a couple good efforts along the way, so I figure it’s always worth it to check them out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,040 BS BLOG visits to date
