Coming Home

5

October 7, 2008 by esarsea

I was over on DaGoddess.com this morning. It’s a blog I enjoy reading, and it features some great photographs.

That’s one of the big differences between THE BS BLOG and other blogs (and DaGoddess.com in particular). When I write something here, I just do a Google search for images that relate to what I post and use them. Being new to the blogging world, I don’t know if that’s considered inappropriate or not – but it’s what I do.

At DaGoddess.com the photos are those of the author/publisher. That’s pretty cool, and I think it lends more credibility and professionalism to her blog.

While I was over at DaGoddess.com I clicked on a link for a website called Operation: Love Reunited. It’s a great site, featuring photographs of military servicemen and servicewomen (and their families). In particular, the photos feature touching images of service personnel as they deploy and/or return home.

As I browsed the OLR website I remembered that I do have an original photograph from when my youngest son returned home from the gulf last year. It fits in nicely with the theme of the photos on the OLR site so I thought I would share it with you here. It was taken on the pier at the shipyard in Bremerton, Washington with an inexpensive snapshot-type camera.

5 thoughts on “Coming Home

  1. Da Goddess says:

    First, I have to say how deeply that photograph touched me, Stu. Everything about it is perfect. Everything. (Damn, I’m tearing up over it)

    Second, thank you for your kind words. Whether it’s photographing bands or military or families or anything else, you know how much I love to shoot and Operation: Love Reunited is something I want to fully support and participate in once I’m given the thumbs up from the doc. It’s a great project and one I want to support.

    Third, did I say how awesome your photo is?

  2. esarsea says:

    Thanks! Coming from a REAL photographer that means a lot. It was just one of those things where I happended to be there and catch the moment. It was my first time meeting a ship returning from deployment to a war zone. It was almost a carnival atmosphere; a navy band was playing, moms with young kids dressed in red, white and blue, etc. The excitement was palpable…and yeah, this Dad misted up a bit as the ship first came into view, with sailors in their dress whites all lined up around the outer edge of the carrier deck…

  3. rsr348 says:

    Very nice photo. You can definitely feel the love there.

    Thanks to your son for his service too. It’s good for us to be reminded what it must be like for families with loved ones over there.

    I’ll check out more from DaGoddess soon. Scrambling for free time this week. ugghh….hate working full time.

  4. esarsea says:

    I’ll pass on your thanks. Thanks!

  5. Da Goddess says:

    Isn’t that something to see? All those people on deck, the families waiting with eager anticipation and lots of love, the earnestness on all the faces — it’s a precious thing.

    About as close as I’ve come to that lately is a ship commissioning, which was fantastic. My last welcome home celebration was back in the late 80s. Hopefully I’ll soon be attending many and capturing moments as beautiful as the one you found.

Leave a Reply

Categories

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 147,999 BS BLOG visits to date
