Have Cell Phone, Will Travel

5

October 9, 2008 by esarsea

I’d like to be a photographer when I grow up. Unfortunatelty, all I have at the moment is the 2 Megapixel camera that’s built into my cell phone. For the most part it captures images that are equivalent to my early-morning vision after a night out on the town.

None the less, I kind of liked this photo of a vine maple that’s growing at the edge of the parking lot where I work. Not for the image quality but rather the pattern and colors of the leaves as they start to turn.

If anyone knows what variety of vine maple (Acer Circinatum) this is, I’d appreciate knowing. It would make for a nice addition to my back yard landscape.

5 thoughts on “Have Cell Phone, Will Travel

  1. rsr348 says:

    Wishes came true today and I was able to cut out of work early. A gorgeous fall day and our north Wis. woods is at it’s peak of color. They’re falling too fast though, due to summer drought I think.

    Anyhow, seems one quality of a good photographer is to notice beauty in unusual places. I’d say you’ve captured that in both the pictures you posted. Cool how the color pattern is the same on each leaf. As to the type of maple, I do not know. We have many sugar and red (?) maple trees around here, but I never heard of vine maple. And I see there’s a link above to vine maple. I’ll check it later–too nice outside today!

  2. Stu says:

    Thanks. I got a nice note back from J. Frank Schmidt Wholesale Nursery in Boring, Oregon who tells me this is actually a Bigleaf/Oregon Maple, Acer macrophyllum. Another message from Briggs Nursery in Porter WA agrees with JFS Nursery, but added that the leaf coloring may be a result of stress on the maple…but that it’s possible it’s a named cultivar too…

  3. Da Goddess says:

    Pretty cool. I’d never heard of a vine maple before. Learn something new every day. Okay, so today was knowledge acquisition day, apparently, but who’s complaining?

    Gotta get you a real camera soon, Stu. As much as you’ve been showing an interest in them lately, it’s time. If I were there, I’d go shopping with you. I mean, really, who could pass up camera shopping?

  4. rsr348 says:

    Yeah, don’t we sound like a bunch of brainerds here. I’m a treehugger and I love science. That’s my favorite subject to teach. I could pass up camera shopping though. I leave the technology to the hubster.

  5. philosophyofmind says:

    A great photo :) I always use my cell phone camera now – and luv it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,099 BS BLOG visits to date
