Brokeback Text Message

12

January 27, 2009 by esarsea

text

My company-issued cell phone has a text message feature. I don’t mind telling you that I’m not a big fan of text messages. If I need to communicate with someone, I find it much easier to simply call them. Spelling out words on an inconvenient, small and hard to read number pad is a real pain in the ass. After all, it is a phone, right?

That being said however, there is the occasional text message exchange that’s entertaining. Take for example the following series of text messages I received from my oldest daughter’s significant other…

Lea tried to trick me into watching broke back mountain I’m very upset

OMG Don’t do it! Quick go rebuild an engine or cut down a tree or something

To cold but I’ll hang some drywall

Ok remember to cuss and spit a lot and put on some loud rock music

Ok done I got Zeppelin playing at max volume should get my point across

Too high of a voice better pull out the Danzig desperate times call for drastic measures

Good plan I’ll have to switch it up when I’m done doing push ups

LOL

Did u call me with some rock music and hang up

Yes Danzig

LOL I will just needed those inspiring words thank you I think she may have fallen asleep I can make a break for it

I’ve got to admit, I probably wouldn’t have found this exchange to be as entertaining over the phone. Maybe the kids are on to something after all!

12 thoughts on “Brokeback Text Message

  1. rsr348 says:

    I’m with you on the first paragraph. I must be old. In fact, I’ve somehow survived without engaging in most of the latest technology for most of my life.

    I agree the above conversation is entertaining and would not be as humorous in a phone call. And texting has proven helpful when insane gun carriers plan shooting sprees on campuses.

  2. Bill says:

    You know, I HATE texting. It’s stupid, it’s grammatically challenged and my fingers are too thick (and long!) to work the little keys.

    Having said that, my 16 year-old won’t answer his phone unless I text and tell him to answer if I call. He’ll text back and forth with me all day, if I let him, but he does not like to chat on the phone with good old Dad.

    Fortunately, his older brother just grew out of that phase and answers his phone like a normal person. My problem with both of them is that they use those musical answering tones, so I have to listen to 8 bars of rap from the youngest and 8 bars of Toys In The Attic-sampled rap from the oldest. I tried to tell the oldest that I was so-o-o through with TITA in the mid 70’s.

    Gick!

  3. Da Goddess says:

    Texting is vile. It’s the most vile of all forms of communication. Except Twitter. That sucks bigger, stinkier rotten eggs. But then again it’s practically the same thing.

    I’ve actually been at a send off dinner for dear friends and my the wife spent half of the night texting. I was more than a little pissed. Grrrr

  4. rsr348 says:

    Interesting you bring up Twitter. I was invited by a friend to join, but it was not explained to my satisfaction, and I reminded him I’m not into weird social networking things. Except for cool blogs. Thanks for affirming my thoughts, Goddess.

    Your dinner situation reminds me of my husband’s hunting trip, where he says his partner was texting all his family members out in the middle of a field. What a way to ruin “guy” time and peacefull outdoor time! I love the Corona commercial where two people are sitting on the beach and the cell phone gets tossed into the ocean.

    And teenagers, hehe….. We have one on the way, though he’s still pretty likeable at age 12, and hasn’t shown interest in a cell phone yet. I’m ok with his choices of music so far too. Alternative, punk-rockish type stuff with intelligent lyrics.

  5. Da Goddess says:

    My son knows he’s not getting a cell phone until he’s old enough to 1) get it himself or 2) is in a situation that requires one. And then it’s only for emergencies. I don’t buy into this bullshit that kids need to have a cell phone. You know what kids need? Parents who act like parents.

    Twitter is, in my esteemed opinion, extended texting. Some call it micro blogging. Guess what? If you don’t have time to blog, then don’t bother blogging — micro or otherwise. Send a damn email when you get a chance or pick up the phone and call. Don’t pretend like you’re developing friendships and relationships with twitter/plurk and whatever other clone there is. Also, myspace and facebook are not substitutes for human interaction. Neither are blogs or email. However, blogging, facebook, and email can accomplish a great deal if used properly. Myspace is just a convenient dump for trash. (See A Shot at Love With Tila Tequila for proof of that last sentence.)

    Becky, your son will do just fine with music. You’ve taught him well. You’ve shown him that there is GOOD music for everyone to enjoy together without resorting to Kidz Bop or Now That’s What I Call Suck Ass Crap 37. Then again, you actually put in real time with your kids. Lots of parents don’t anymore.

  6. Stu says:

    I must be lagging behind…never heard of Twitter, but then again we’re empty-nesters so maybe that explains it. I did Google that Tila Tequila thing and saw that it was a Bachelor spin-off with a bi-sexual slant on MTV. Showing my age, I remember when MTV showed music videos…

  7. Bill says:

    Ok, now I have to say that having watched MTV’s launch in the early 80’s with the astronaut scene and all, MTV has lost it’s music video mojo long ago. They de-evolved into a reality TV network and most of it is an embarassingly sucky pile of misery, complaining, whining and crying and that’s just the commercials…

  8. rsr348 says:

    I remember the beginnings of MTV. My parents had just hooked us up to cable and it was so damn exciting. Rock songs with videos! The first one I remember seeing was Devo doing “Crack that Whip”. The 80s were weird. It does suck now. I never watch it. VH1 was ok for awhile, but that kinda sucks now too.

    Thanks for the kind words Joanie. I was just laughing at Bill’s lament of teenagers and their weirdness, because I can see it starting in my son. We are pretty much geeks and embaress him by our mere existance.

    Sorry Stu, your topic got a little off track.

  9. esarsea says:

    No worries! We have no tracks…only stations where we get on the train. When you post, you’re driving.

  10. Bill says:

    (In Chris Farley’s best schtick) “Joanie, buy-the-boy-a-phone!”

    When I got divorced 10 years ago, my sons’ grandmother put both kids on her plan. It was actually a good thing because I could find them and ask obnoxious-parent questions, like,”Where are you? Who are you with? What are you doing? When are you going home? Remember, don’t swim for 1/2 an hour after eating. Don’t get in any vans driven by anyone. Use rubbers…ooops, you’re 12. Nevermind!”

  11. Da Goddess says:

    If my son gets a phone at all, it’s the type that has parental controls. As in, he’ll be able to call mom, dad, grandparents, aunt/uncle, 911. But he doesn’t need it at this point and I’m keeping it that way as long as I can.

  12. Randy Spiker says:

    Texting is a way to avoid communicating. My daughter is really into this texting thing and it is just as I described……. avoidance.

    …….or it’s the first step in the evolution of Man where we finally shut the fuck up because our mouths have disappeared from lack of usage.

Leave a Reply

Categories

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,099 BS BLOG visits to date
