Joe Cocker Finally Revealed!

4

August 4, 2009 by esarsea

This is from Roman Around, another blog here on WordPress. His post is titled, Joe Cocker Finally Revealed – 40 Years Later. VERY FUNNY STUFF! I had to share it with you here.

Like many, my “inbox” gets slammed on a daily basis with e-mails that have “made the rounds,” featuring jokes, funny pictures, political satire, links to interesting sites, and so on.

I try to give them all a look – and many of them are quite good – but rarely does one make me “laugh out loud” like this one did.

For those who are familiar with classic rock music, you know that Joe Cocker covered the Beatles’ song “With A Little Help From My Friends.”

He famously performed it at Woodstock – forty years ago this month.

As many of you may also know, Cocker has a unique way of interpreting songs – very soulful, with a bluesy edge, maniacally expressive, free-flowing and from the gut (even though it often looks like he’s about to rip his open).

If you’ve ever wondered exactly what Mr. Cocker was actually singing during his rendition of the Beatles’ classic, this translation may help.

 

4 thoughts on “Joe Cocker Finally Revealed!

  1. bill says:

    “Oh, hey, hen, I’m gonna pat all eggs?!?!?”

    That’s funny as Hell. There’s web site somewhere that has all the butchered lyrics in pop music and it’s pretty humorous. “S’cuse me while I kiss this guy!”-type stuff.

    The thing about Cocker doing well-known covers at the time was you kinda already knew what the real lyrics were and forgave his unique delivery because he was so f–cking entertaining! His gig at Woodstock was legendary. A stand-out.

  2. torqdog says:

    WOW!!! it only took 40 years for someone to finally publish the lyrics to that wonderfully butchered song……. one that I have always loved. I’ve always been surprised that with all his gyrations and a drinking problem that he didn’t puke onstage. Sure makes me dizzy just watchin him.

    Joe Cocker for President!……. of something.

  3. Stu says:

    I am actually a big Joe Cocker fan. Hope he doesn’t mind us having a little fun at his expense. Some of his stuff is timeless.

  4. rsr348 says:

    Before I’d ever seen footage of live Joe Cocker, I was laughing my ass off at Belushi’s impersonation on SNL. Then I saw the real thing on a Woodstock special a few years ago and just about split my gut laughing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,099 BS BLOG visits to date
