Rediscovering….. King’s X

6

October 17, 2009 by torqdog

King's x #1

Have you ever bought an album that just didn’t catch your ear, only to find that years later, for some unknown reason it returns to become one of your favorites? I just recently had that experience with this CD, Best of King’s X. King’s X opened for Dream Theater back in the earlier part of this decade and wanting to have some familiarity of the Band and music, I bought this CD. I listened to it a few times but just couldn’t wrap myself around the simplicity of what I was hearing. After all, we were talkng about being matched up against Dream Theater, a tough chore for any Band, IMHO. So this CD wound up in the archives of never-never land, never to be heard from again…….. until a couple months ago.

Upon completing the installation of the surround sound system in the Man-Cave and in the testing mode (showing it off), when asked, a friend picked this CD from the 500 and something selections I have. For some reason the chemistry that day made my ears perk up and now this CD has not left the #1 spot in my everyday rotations.

Has this sort of musical epiphany ever happened to you? 

Kings x #3

If I were to describe King’s X music the first thing that comes to mind is the rich vocal harmonies that sound so Beatlesque that it simply amazes. Couple that with some VERY clean grundge sounding guitar and it just works. The drumming is as simple as it gets but for some reason, just works. The Bass playing, once again is rather simple, clean and smooth and once again, it just works. Why do I love this CD? You put it all together and it just works. There are no screaming, incindiary guitar riffs, no drumming with the speed of oscillating tires beating down some distant washboard dirt road or Bass riffs rivaling that of the best Guitar players. Nope, there is just a very pleasing sense that a band can make music of such purity, beautiful vocals put to a metal brand without it being overdriven or overdone.

This CD is obviously a compilation, released in 1997. The first ten tunes are my favorites, after that it seems to fade for me…… but could there be another epiphany coming up sometime in the future? I don’t know but for now these ten are doing just fine. 

Kings x #2

This thread was not supposed to be so much a review of this CD as much as a revelation that sometimes what originally comes across as something we find unlikeable, becomes our best friend.

Why is that? You tell me.

6 thoughts on “Rediscovering….. King’s X

  1. Stu says:

    I love King’s X, and have for a long time. Their albums Gretchen Goes to Nebraska and Out Of The Silent Planet are 2 of my favorites.

    You nailed it with the Beatle-esque vocals and harmonies. It’s hard to label Kings’s X. Not exactly mainstream rock, but a GREAT power trio.

  2. Da Goddess says:

    Some things are just an acquired taste. They take longer for you to develop a more mature palate. Music, food, people, places. It applies to everything across the board. Go figure.

  3. Bill says:

    It’s like hating spaghetti as a teenager and loving it now. Of course, my teenage years were mostly spent acting like Joe Cocker at Woodstock, but taste in things change, mostly for the better, I think.

    What happened to you happened in reverse for me this week.

    I was just arranging my CD-DVD drawers ’cause us unemployed people have an uncomfortable amount of free time on our hands and I’ve wanted to put disks back in their original cases, sort things out, etc., for years.

    A musician I used to follow and buy all the available CD’s is now occupying the far back corner of my drawer, well beyond old Faith No More, The Sex Pistols, Alice In Chains and The Gypsy Kings. Kinda archived, as it were, with a distinct possiblity of boxing them up and mailing them to the local public radio station as a donation.

  4. esarsea says:

    Another great compilation, that fits well into the “Rediscovering” arena is Blown to Smithereens: The Best of the Smithereens. I always enjoyed them, but wasn’t necessarily a huge fan of theirs. An ok rock band with pop sensibilities and a couple hits (Blood and Roses and A Girl Like You).

    Going back now, and after repeated listenings, this compilation has become one of my favorite recordings – and does a great job of representing their style and sound. Check it out.

  5. […] posted an article about these guys a while back, titled Rediscovering King’s X. I have long shared Randy’s affinity for this band and their unique sound. It’s […]

  6. Gary says:

    I’ve been a fan of King’s X since the late ’80’s. They don’t fit anywhere but they do their thing and it does work – well.

    The same thing happened to me in the 70’s with Kansas. A girl friend turned me on to them one night but it didn’t click. Maybe I had other things on my mind. However a few months later they became a favorite to this day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 147,999 BS BLOG visits to date
