Who Are They?

7

February 8, 2010 by esarsea

Who-Who, Who-Who?

I am a long standing fan of The Who. In my opinion they have produced some of the greatest music ever recorded. Who’s Next is probably in the Top 25 of my all time favorite rock albums. I think Tommy was a masterpiece, and Quadrophenia was brilliant.

That being said, watching Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend perform during the halftime of yesterday’s Superbowl was depressing. I experienced a strange mix of detachment, sadness and an increased awareness of my own mortality. Not even the flashy illuminated stage and obligatory pyrotechnic display were capable of shaking me out of my sense of doom-and-gloom.

The Who announced their 1st, “Farewell Tour” 28 years ago in 1982, just 4 years after Keith Moon’s death. 1 studio, 9 live, and 12 compilation albums later, (not to mention John Entwistle’s death in 2002), The Who have tour dates booked well into 2010.

I don’t begrudge Roger and Pete’s desire to continue performing. It’s most likely more of a symptom of my state of mind than it is anything else. I’ve found myself aging vicariouly through my rock and roll heros for some time now, but this one really hit me. Hit me behind blue eyes if you will.

I know, I apologize for that one…but I just had to work that reference in here somehow.

This too shall pass, I know. I’ll gradually pull out of this funk and embrace being a balding, slightly overweight, 50-something grandfather of 3 who now needs reading glasses. After all, I am a lucky guy; married to my best friend who continues to be my soulmate after 23 years. She doesn’t often visit this blog, but if she does I know she’ll tell me (very matter-of-factly) to knock it off, and get my shit together. Yeah, she’s like that…and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

7 thoughts on “Who Are They?

  1. torqdog says:

    I saw the Who everytime they hit SF back in the early 70s. That band that was onstage last night was NOT the Who. I too was VERY disappointed. The music seemed forced and the drummer doesn’t even come close to filling the shoes of Keith Moon. It was really sad………. kind of like watching some washed up sports hero getting up for another season when he should have retired years earlier.

    If you waited until after 50 to need reading glasses, you’re doin a hell of a lot better than me. I went down the day after I turned 40 and bought my first pair.

  2. Adam says:

    I’ve never seen them live or even on tv from a past show. The first time I heard behind blue eyes (that I remember) it was a cover on a soundtrack and became one of my favorite songs. Needless to say they were some of the greatest artists of their time.. Unfortunately their time has past and it was obvious with even just a glance at the Tv. You do got to give to them. They went up there and gave it their all, and that is something to be said at there age. I really hope I’m doing what I love to do when I get there.

  3. elexmage says:

    As this vintage rocker viewed that spectacle, my first thought was to ask how many painkillers were needed for those dislocation-threatening windmills. Glad his belt was tight or another, and certainly more scary, costume malfunction was imminent.

    Pushed past their time and prime, and now reduced to the “Two” next time they may need a walker.

  4. Your life sounds like mine, right down to the three grandkids, the wife, being slightly overweight, and aging vicariously through rock bands that should now be extinct. Except I’m a good ten years younger than you.

    And Pete should’ve really kept his shirt buttoned. When you get to be his age, the less flesh visible the better.

  5. Da Goddess says:

    Having attended the first farewell tour concert in San Diego, I remember quite well how much fun the band was. So it was rather depressing to watch them at halftime and think, “wow, the last time I saw them, they were about the age I am now and yet they apparently haven’t learned that sometimes it’s better to walk away with your head held high when you can”.

    On the other hand, when you can play two notes and get a whole crowd to sing a song for you, I guess you still “got it”, at least in some form.

  6. Bill says:

    Yeah, sheesh! Townsend didn’t have to look like an escapee from a jail in a Greek village. Jeebus! It was distracting to see him trying to look like Van Morrison and Tom Waits’ love child. These people are multi-multi-millionaires. You would think that they could have brought in a wardrobe consultant for a Super Bowl show. Maybe Janet Jackson’s. That way we could a glimpse of his flabby nipples along with the rest of his manscape.

  7. Bill says:

    And, there’s a great documentary on cable about The Who, their beginnings, etc. and it is very good. Keith Moon was just an animal, as we all know. No peer. They interview current day drummers who gush about what Moon was doing to get his remarkable sound. It’s physically on the edge of nearly impossible, according to some of these guys. And Townsend is particularly endearing and respectful of John Entwistle’s influence and contribution to the band. Says it was Entwistle who kept him in check on stage.

Leave a Reply

Categories

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,099 BS BLOG visits to date
