Black Country Communion

3

June 16, 2010 by esarsea

I was reading Joe Bonamassa’s forum the other day and was stunned by some comments written by Tony Conley who operates Rock Guitar Daily.

Tony has an advance copy of Black Country Communion’s debut CD, due to be released this coming September. Tony posted the following comments on JB’s forum:

“…every song on the record could be considered radio worthy

“…several songs fall under the category of instant classics

“…this record hit me in an extremely immediate and substantial way.”

“…this record is in a league with Led Zep’s debut, Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust, and Who’s Next in terms of sheer scope and dimension.”

“…I remember wishing that Entwistle and Moon could be in a band with Page and Plant. Well, now they can.”

Are you kidding me? Those are some strong, strong statements. Hard to believe, really. Comparisons to Led Zep I and Who’s Next…two absolute all time classic recordings? Really? I am really looking forward to hearing it.

Here is Tony’s review over on Rock Guitar Daily.

Here is Tony’s recent interview with Glenn Hughes.

Here is Black Country’s Website which features a interesting video with comments from band members and a couple short clips from the new album.

Black Country is a new “Super Group” featuring Bassist/Vocalist Glenn Hughes (Deep Purple, Black Sabbath, Trapeze), Drummer Jason Bonham (Bonham, Led Zeppelin, Foreigner), Keyboardist Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater, Planet X) and Blues-Rock Guitarist/Vocalist Joe Bonamassa (Bloodline, Solo Artist).

3 thoughts on “Black Country Communion

  1. torqdog says:

    I just hope the album lives up to all this hype. I know we’ve been down this road before with the latest “supergroup” offering being Chickenfoot which was just “OK” IMHO.

  2. Da Goddess says:

    The only hype I’m buying is what I generate. If the CD goes into my rotation and keeps getting played, then I’ll believe.

    Seriously, though, I am curious about the music and if this is a one off sort of thing or if there’s more on the horizon.

  3. Bill says:

    Well, I am an anxious, quivering mass of anticipation!

    I’m with Da Goddess all the way. I decide if it’s what Tony Conley says it is and the test is whether I play the damn thing until it melts.

    And that kind of record-label hype just does everyone a huge dis-service, in my opinion. How in the world can these guys EVER live up to those comparisons?

Leave a Reply

Categories

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,099 BS BLOG visits to date
