Turn It Up Tuesday!

6

October 12, 2010 by esarsea

In my opinion, The Smithereens are one of most underrated bands ever, and they’re still out there touring today. According to Wiki, The group formed in 1980 with members Pat DiNizio (vocals & guitar), Jim Babjak (guitar & vocals), Mike Mesaros (bass guitar & vocals), and Dennis Diken (drums & percussion) . This lineup continued until 2006, when Mesaros left the band and Severo Jornacion took over on bass guitar.

I VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND: Blown to Smithereens: The Best of the Smithereens (a 16 song CD), not to be confused with 10 song “Best of Smithereens” CD. It’s available for only $8.49 from CD Universe using the link above. It is one of those records that continues to grow on you after subsequent listenings.

Here’s 3 fairly recent live clips, and a studio recording. Turn it up!

6 thoughts on “Turn It Up Tuesday!

  1. torqdog says:

    I knew I had heard of these guys and their song “A Girl Like You”, I have heard before. They’re alright and are definitely sporting a kind of pop sound. Love that Telecaster.

    How long have they been around? Seems like that tune (A Girl Like You) was getting airplay back when I was still listening to FM, back before the Dinosaurs died off.

    • Stu says:

      They’ve been around for 30 years now, they got together in 1980. “Blood and Roses” also got a lot of airplay back in the day.

  2. Da Goddess says:

    Blood & Roses is their best. And you know, it may be a favorite simply because of that bass intro.

  3. Becky says:

    Yeah, said I wouldn’t get sucked back in. Maybe just on weekends when I have time to play. This one caught my eye, as I’ve passed by Blown to Smithereens in our massive collection many times. It’s one of Wes’s CDs that I listened to for a short time many years ago and didn’t think I liked.
    I will give it another try and let you know.

  4. Stu says:

    “Yeah, said I wouldn’t get sucked back in…”

    Welcome back to the dark side :-)

  5. Becky says:

    Hey, it’s Friday again. Whew! Weird week I had. Pre-full moon weirdness perhaps. Looks like I missed a lot of fun stuff on here this week too. Maybe I’ll catch up tomorrow.

    I did listen to “Blown to Smithereens”. It’s ok. I recognize some songs that got a lot of airplay back in the day. The lyrics are good, but the music isn’t the type that really grabs me. It’s definitely got that late 80s pop/alternative sound that reminds me of my college days. I’ll have to let Wes know they’re still around.

Leave a Reply

Categories

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,054 BS BLOG visits to date
