Turn It Up Tuesday!

7

November 24, 2010 by esarsea

The Winter Storm that hit us Monday took out my Internet and email. Also took out the TV, and on a few occasions my power and heat. I even missed work yesterday.

Needless to say there was no Turn It Up Tuesday yesterday. With the holiday coming tomorrow, and playing catch-up at work today, I don’t expect there will be one at all this week. Maybe we’ll have a double-shot next week.

Hope you all have a safe and happy Thanksgiving!

7 thoughts on “Turn It Up Tuesday!

  1. torqdog says:

    Gobble-gobble everyone!

    Hey Stu and Bill, is it cold enough for ya? We got down to 5 degrees this am and it’s only 29 right now. Coldest Thanksgiving on record here in Northern Nevada.

    • Stu says:

      Yes, it was plenty cold enough for me! We didn’t have it too bad, dropped into the teens with 30-40 mph winds. The Central and Eastern part of the state were really cold. Spokane came in at -9 and Moses Lake hit -14.

      It was almost the perfect storm. It was barely freezing out when we got 3 to 4″ of wet snow, followed by an immediate drop in temp to 20 degrees or less, accompanied by high winds. My normal 75 minute commute home took over 4 hours (but at least I was being entertained by the constant bright blue and green flashes in the sky as power lines went down and transformers failed).

      Fun stuff.

      • Becky says:

        I just spoke with a friend in a Seattle burb who sent pictures of car pile-ups on the hill she lives on.

        I’m glad you stayed safe, Stu, and I don’t envy your 75 minute commute in good weather. I’ve heard Seattle area traffic is horrendous. I’ll keep my 20 min. commute on my quiet country road :)

  2. Bill says:

    We’ve been in single digits for a couple of days, the kind of high mountain desert dry-freeze that makes exposed skin burn and itch. So, I’ve stayed indoors this week. Cooked a turkey for us to have here at the house and then made a pumpkin-chocolate layered cream cheese pie. Ate one piece and left it at Janet’s sister’s house because I’m on a diet! We’re supposed to get “up” into the daytime 30’s next week. It was -29 at Snowbird ski resort this week, wind chill and all.

  3. Becky says:

    We got some snow and freezing rain on Wed. night in north central Wis., but were able to drive south for the holiday on Thu. Everyone’s been carrying on about how cold it is, but it’s actually pretty normal for Wis. I think we forgot what winter is like, after a long, hot summer and warmish fall.

    Stu, I feel your pain of power outage. We lost it for 3 days back in Oct. before Halloween, due to very high winds. No running water or working toilets, and we had to ditch a bunch of food that was questionable. We got a hotel room the second night, just so we could shower for work and school.

  4. Bill says:

    My god, Becky! Sounds like a survival show on cable! There are two things I cannot toleragte and I admit it: wind and power outages. I’;m ggod for about two or three hours without power and then I get antsy. I would be a good candidate for a generator. Not so much the camo and all the ammo I could buy, but a generator sounds good.

  5. Becky says:

    haha! yeah, we could outdo the Palins with our survival skills.

    Power goes out quite often here, though not usually for so long. We have a wood stove for warmth and plenty of lanterns and it’s fun for one night, but then it gets old. Last time this happened we could at least put the food out in the snow.

    We did have our laptop to keep up with the world. While my daughter and I were down at the pool, my son was asking a girl to the dance over facebook.

Leave a Reply

Categories

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 147,999 BS BLOG visits to date
