Turn It Up Tuesday!

5

November 30, 2010 by esarsea

This week’s Turn It Up Tuesday features 3 clips from Stoney Curtis and the Stoney Curtis Band’s 2006 appearance on Germany’s Rockpalast. Although the audio isn’t the best on the last 2 clips, they do demonstrate the band’s raw energy and power.

What really caught my attention was how Stoney and the band remind me of early Joe Bonamassa, which as you know is my favorite JB era. High energy electric blues power trio fronted by a Fender Strat, with a smokin rhythm section. Check out the Rocco Prestia-esque 16th note bass line in the first cut, Last Train To Chicago.

Stoney has completed work on a new CD, Cosmic Connection that will be released in the near future. I’ll be first in line.

Preview all songs off Stoney’s Acid Blues Experience CD

Preview all songs off Stoney’s Raw & Real CD

Preview all songs off Stoney’s Alive and Unleashed CD

Thanks to DaGoddess for turning me on to this band!

5 thoughts on “Turn It Up Tuesday!

  1. torqdog says:

    Another band worthy of the “turn it up” moniker. You keep this up Stu and I might be forced to upgrade my computer speaks from the cheapies supplied by Dell.

    I like Stony Curtis Band. Two thumbs up!

  2. Da Goddess says:

    I am so so so so so glad you like Stoney! He’s amazing. AMAZING! And as soon as that CD hits the streets, I’m getting a few copies myself.

    My son HAS to have his own. Cuz, according to him they’re best friends. And you know what? Stoney’s really been incredible to the kid.

    Can’t wait for you to hear the whole disc. It’s everything I hoped it would be and more.

    Regarding the comparison to JB…it’s that power trio thing plus the late 60s/early 70s vibe that runs through the material that adds to the fire that burns within. JB may have lost it, but Stoney carries that torch proudly and does it justice. Sigh, can’t figure out which tune to declare my favorite so far. I think I’ll pick a new one each day.

  3. Bill says:

    Yup, he’s all there. He sounds more like a Johnny Winter than a Joe Bonamassa, and I love his tone, for the most part.

    The power trio thing is exciting, courageous and in your face if you look back on that format through music history. It’s not polished, no horns, no strings, just loud, proud and fun!

    • torqdog says:

      I’ve always been drawn to the three piece concept. It takes a good deal of talent for it to be successful. Not to mention it just seems like a vehicle to improvisation, my favorite kind of stuff.

      Improv and talent as well as that “in your face” stuff you mentioned is prolly why I like the JB live at Ft Wayne DVD so much.

      Now all we need from Stony is a good quality, but not too expensive DVD that he could include as a bonus in a CD packet, minus the dancing girls. ;-)

Leave a Reply

Categories

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 147,999 BS BLOG visits to date
