Turn It Up Tuesday!

7

February 1, 2011 by esarsea

This week’s Turn It Up Tuesday is the result of  a musical discovery, leading to another musical discovery. It’s always fun when that happens – not to mention I always enjoy learning a little music trivia.

As some of you may know, Bogie Bowles, Joe Bonamassa’s drummer since the departure of Kenny Kramme, has decided to leave the band. It was a friendly split; the constant touring and travel simply took its toll and Bogie needed a break and a new direction.  You can read Bogie’s announcement on Joe’s forum here.

Joe’s new drummer is Tal Bergman, who has performed and recorded with an impressive list or artists, including Peter Cetera, Chaka Kahn, Billy Idol, Rod Stewart, Dave Mason and many others. One artist’s name you might not recognize among Tal’s credits is guitarist Stevie Salas.

In this first clip we have Stevie Salas performing a cover of Stevie Wonder’s I was made to love her, which appeared on the 1996 Salas album The Electric Pow Wow

What’s interesting about this video is that not only does Tal Bergman play the drums, but the bass is handled by Joe Bonamassa’s current bassist, Carmine Rojas.  Oh, and the vocals? None other than Mr. Glenn Hughes, JB’s bandmate in Black Country Communion.

It’s also interesting to note that The Electric Pow Wow was released 4 years prior to Bonamassa’s debut solo album A New Day Yesterday.

Now for part 2 of the discovery. In doing a little reading about Stevie Salas I learned that Salas also played with Sass Jordan. Curious, I looked around and found these videos. Taken from a live performance at the Rose Theatre in Brampton, Ontario Canada in March of 2009, here’s High Road Easy and You Don’t Have To Remind Me.



Turn It Up!

7 thoughts on “Turn It Up Tuesday!

  1. Stevie Salas says:

    Hello All I just saw this on Google Alerts..Very Cool
    Well here is more trivia for ya I really did the Pow Wow track with Tal and Carmine in 92 but it later was released in other countries. Carmine Rojas is who gave me my first gig which was lead guitar player for Rod Stewart in 1988 when i was fresh out of high school.I hired Tal Bergman to be the drummer of Terrance Trent D’arby when I was his MD in 1993, Although that is not me in those videos with Sass jordan I did write both those songs and played guitar on the original cd’s and alsp Produced the Sass cd Rats with High Road Easy on it and Carmine Rojas as well as Tal Bergman are both on other tracks on that cd NOW here is some REAL Trivia Bogie was kind enough to play drums on my 1998 Viva La Noise tour of Europe…I have also played with people like Mick Jagger and Justin Timberlake but perhaps one day will have to get a nice jam in with Joe Bonnamassa
    Cheers
    Stevie

  2. Stu says:

    Thanks for stopping by our little corner of the internet world, and taking the time to leave us a comment! I hate to admit that I am just learning about your music, but I plan to check out a lot more of your stuff.

    In honor of your visit, here’s another youtube clip I found. Thanks again!
    Stu

  3. Jim M says:

    I to got this link from a Google alert. The 90’s were my lost decade for music if the internet had been as pervasive as it is now I would of damn sure known more about Stevie Salas.

    Thanks for the comments and background. Carmine is truly a special man. That is so cool he got you the gig with Rod and the connection with Bogie and Tal. Bogie is a class act too. Look forward to seeing what Tal brings to the mix.

  4. Big Jeff says:

    OYE Mescalero!
    Such a pleasure to see you pop up here. Nice Stu! I threw you up on MuchJoe’s forum when Tal got hired. Carmine and I go waaaay back. 71-72 maybe? Patti L? Yeah Buff, that was it. Peace, the great Spirit and

    MuchLove
    BJJ FDOL

  5. torqdog says:

    I loved the Stevie Wonder piece and am amazed at how much nicer Glen’s voice sounds on this track when compared with the Black Country CD. I may be speaking in terms of heresy here but am still NOT convinced that Kevin Shirley is all that good on the boards.

    Nice guitar work Stevie. I will definitely be looking into purchasing your catalogue in the very near future. :-)

    • stevie salas says:

      Yikes Sorry Joe!!
      I just saw that I spelled Joe’s last name wrong…Please forgive!!
      He was right to notice that i was very excited about meeting Kev Shirly but also I was in Joe’s bus and he was entertaining lots of guests including our pal Allison Moody so I wanted to give him space…BUT he sure was awesome that night.
      Hey Joe hug my big brother Carmine for me and get Tal to get ya some gigs in Isreall..He is the King there
      Also I have a cool iPHONE music app company and a guitar game called Rockstar Solos. We are building them for alot of my rockstar pals now and perhaps we need a Rockstar Solos Joe Bonamassa game for iPHONE and iPAD
      Cheers
      Stevie

Leave a Reply

Categories

February 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,040 BS BLOG visits to date
