Turn It Up Tuesday!

8

March 8, 2011 by esarsea

Here’s 4 cuts from Chicago Transit Authority’s outstanding self-titled 1969 debut album. Some of our younger readers might be surprised to learn that Chicago used to be a rock band. Yes indeed boys and girls! In fact, Chicago was a somewhat political rock band with a message back in the day.

32 albums later, Chicago’s music now goes mostly unnoticed; playing passively in elevators around the world. But there was a day that Chicago rocked, and Chicago Transit Authority bears proof of that fact. It’s one of my favorite recordings, and still on regular rotation in my iPod – 42 years after it’s release.

Enjoy, and turn it up!

8 thoughts on “Turn It Up Tuesday!

  1. torqdog says:

    Good find Stu. CTA was definitely ahead of it’s time for 1969. Back in the day, I used to love turning it up everytime I’m a Man came on the radio. Just flat out good time rock n roll.

    • Stu says:

      Not to mention the production value of the record. Released in 1969, it was a great sounding album even by today’s standards. Needless to say, the remastered CD sounds amazing!

  2. Bill says:

    And the guitar player,Terry Kath, playing with a loaded gun while partying, began a series of accidental gunshot deaths in the entertainment biz. Actor John Hexum and Bruce Lee’s kid playing The Crow both died from “blanks” that weren’t or a blank that killed Hexum ’cause they are deadly when held against your temples!

    I will say this: I don’t care if “women” are into Cetera. . .I’m not.

  3. Bill says:

    In fact, this brings upsomething I’ve been rolling around in my head for awhile now.

    I’m trying to figure out how people listened to so much lousy, pop-sounding, silly shit and bobbed tjheir heads and called stations and requested those same tunes and when I hear them now, I absolutely cringe! Seriously!

    Horse With No Name, How Deep Is Your Love? Muskrat Love, Three Times A Lady, Kung Fu Fighting, Don’t It Make My Brown Eyes Blue, Torn Between Two Lovers, You Don’t Bring Me Flowers, Silly Love Songs. . .yech!

  4. Becky says:

    I listened to part of the first and second clips. I hear “Im a Man” on the radio a lot. I really liked the second one–kinda bluesy, it was. I don’t know how “young” I am. I grew up with older Chicago and then the sappy stuff as a teen, which also makes me cringe when I hear it now.

    Bill, I second your emotions on all the ones you listed, except Horse with No Name. Isn’t that about a drug trip? I’ll confess I love America, even their sappy stuff.

  5. Becky says:

    Not Muskrat Love though! ( I missed that one the first time.) The mouse is busted and I’m having a hell of a time navigating with the touch pad, so I best just quit for the day.

  6. torqdog says:

    I wasn’t sure where else to post this but I just discovered that a concert featuring Rory Gallagher is coming out on video in April. I saw him back around ’73 or ’74 and he totally kicked ass.
    http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Rory-Gallagher-Irish-Tour-1974-Blu-ray/20926/

Leave a Reply

Categories

March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,016 BS BLOG visits to date
