Phoebe Snow 1952-2011

2

April 27, 2011 by esarsea

I was quite surprised by the sense of loss and sadness I experienced when I learned of Phoebe Snow’s passing this morning. Released the same year I graduated from High School, her 1974 self-titled debut album was a favorite of mine.

I was unaware that Phoebe gave birth to a daughter with brain damage in 1975, and that she put her career on hold to care for her at home. That could explain why I lost track of her. Phoebe continued to care for her daughter until she died in 2007 at the age of 31. I learned these things just today after hearing the news of Phoebe’s passing.

Here are a few cuts from that amazing record. I haven’t had a copy since I wore out the LP I had on vinyl…but rest assured I will be ordering a copy on CD just as soon as I finish this post.

You can pick up a copy of Phoebe’s self-titled debut album here.

2 thoughts on “Phoebe Snow 1952-2011

  1. Tom says:

    Wow thanks for the post, that is a shocker. I well remember when her debut album came out, it was all over the radio. That’s very interesting about her daughter. I remember it seemed like she was everywhere for a time then suddenly she wasn’t. Caring for her daughter would explain that phenomenon.

    It gives me a whole new level of respect for her knowing she did the selfless thing, the right thing and laid aside her personal ambitions to give her life to her daughter who desperately needed her. I looked up a couple of articles and in one there was this closing statement:

    Looking back on her life and career, Snow was philosophical.
    “Occasionally, I’d put out an album but I didn’t like to tour, so I wouldn’t get much support from the labels,” she said. “But you know what? It really didn’t matter to me because I got to stay home more with Valerie. And that time was precious.”

    Now there’s a person with her priorities straight and peace in her heart as a result. God bless her!

  2. Bill says:

    What a unique voice and style she had. An American Original.

Leave a Reply

Categories

April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 147,999 BS BLOG visits to date
