Turn It Up Tuesday!

13

June 7, 2011 by esarsea

Prior to today (well, yesterday) I knew nothing about Grace Potter and/or Grace Potter and the Nocturnals. I had heard of her, but hadn’t bothered to check her out.

I don’t even remember what I was searching for when I stumbled across the following video of Grace Potter performing with Joe Satriani on youtube. I found it rather compelling, so I poked around a little more and found the 2nd video, an acoustic piece with Benny Yurco (a member of the Nocturnals).

I can’t quite put my finger on it, but Grace has something going on. Then again, you know me and female vocalists. Hope you enjoy these as much as I did!

13 thoughts on “Turn It Up Tuesday!

  1. torqdog says:

    Nice! You know I share your love (or weakness) for female vocalists as witnessed by posts of ABBA, Berlin and others. You’re right, she sure seems to have something going on here and I like it.

    BTW; I haven’t heard that song Cortez for many years. Nice rendition!

  2. Sandy says:

    Amazing band – can’t believe you hadn’t heard of her before (until the last couple of years mostly a northeast band). They have a live show on iTunes, this is most definitely a band to be enjoyed live. Here’s some pictures: http://www.flickr.com/photos/24057301@N05/sets/72157625597877658/

    • esarsea says:

      I had heard of her (I think she has been discussed in the “Other Artists” section of the Joe B. forum) but had never checked out her music. Thanks for the link to the photos. I watched the entire slideshow, and there are some great shots there!

  3. Becky says:

    Yeah, that is quite a voice. I’d say she ranks with Tedeschi or Bonnie Raitt. I like both songs a lot too, though very different styles. Really like the trumpet in the Cortez song, and I’m not usually a fan of brass instruments in blues songs. Kind of gives it a Spanishy twist.

    • Ron Johnson says:

      Love, Love Gracy.
      Cortez the Killer rendition is one of my favs. Look at the number of views, and a lot of them are me playing it again and again.
      Am not a big fan of the studio work, but live is where it’s at.
      Take a peak at these from Blues71-Roy was at the front rail to capture this magic. Lucky Dog!
      I know that I need some medicine from time to time.

      She is very talented on the B3.
      is another fav.
      Enjoy!
      RockinRon

      • Ron Johnson says:

        The second clip with Warren is truely the Beauty and the Beast.
        RockinRon

      • Stu says:

        Now that I see these, I do recall Roy including me on a group email that contained a link to the 1st video above. I guess I never really listened to the music nor took it seriously at the time. I must have been distracted by the, um…poor audio quality. Yeah, that’s what it was.

  4. Da Goddess says:

    I’m not a fan. Perhaps it was because I was stuck in the middle of a crowd at Doheny Blues Festival a couple years ago hoping I was going to hear some killer blues and all I got was jam band caterwalling. Since then, I haven’t been able to listen to her without having a visceral reaction that is quite unpleasant.

    I’m no blues purist. Never have been. But you know what? I get tired of being fed jam bands as blues. I can pick out the blues influences, sure, however, there’s usually so little it’s negligible. That said, there are many bands I enjoy that aren’t blues, that aren’t…whatever…but they’re packaged for exactly what they are.

    I dunno. I’ve tried so many times to like GP&TN, but it ain’t happenin’ yet.

  5. Da Goddess says:

    p.s. after thinking about it for twenty seconds, I realize that one of the things I particularly don’t care for is the “forced bohemian” sort of look GP&TN have. Too hipster, poseur for my liking.

    I know. I’m going to duck and cover…

    • Ron Johnson says:

      Joanie, No need to duck and cover. I’m not that hep on The Nocturnals, but really appreciate when she is singin and playin with other bands. (OK, the dancin is pretty hot as well)

  6. esarsea says:

    No need to duck and cover here – dissenting opinions are always welcome. I don’t think they represent themselves as a blues band though?

    This from their website bio:

    “Though GPN initially made a name for themselves — and became a self-sufficient touring unit — on the jam-band circuit, the group’s sound was deeply rooted in the golden age of rock ’n’ roll; they cite Little Feat and J.J. Cale as huge influences early on. Burr and Potter formed the earliest version of the Nocturnals while both were students at St. Lawrence University after he introduced her to the myriad joys of The Last Waltz. So it was that the two soon-to-be bandmates and soulmates formed their bond while in the thrall of The Band, Neil Young, Joni Mitchell, Van Morrison and Bob Dylan. All in all, not a bad place to start.”

    Probably shouldn’t have been booked to play a blues festival. Not that it matters I guess – if you don’t care for them, you don’t care for them :-)

    • Becky says:

      I got curious about all the additional comments I saw for this post. I wouldn’t necessarily label them a blues band, guess I just didn’t know what else to call them when when I posted my comment. There are such fine lines dividing musical genre, and some bands don’t clearly fit into any. I recall this discussion several years ago on a particular forum. Most Wis. bluesfest attendees would probably enjoy them whether or not they are a “blues” band. Hell, the countryfest people would probably like them too. Most of us just enjoy fests and good music (and beer).

      On that note, a toast to you dads…..Happy Father’s Day!

  7. Da Goddess says:

    There have been a few articles touting them as the “saving Grace (Potter)” of blues.

    To me they’re a jam band and that’s where they’ll always reside. Blues festivals do book them and much of the crowd doesn’t know the difference so they glom onto them as blues.

    Eh, whatevs. I’m going on day 3 of Nikka Costa funk and soul, so it’s all good.

Leave a Reply

Categories

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,099 BS BLOG visits to date
