Turn It Up Tuesday!

8

June 28, 2011 by esarsea

UK’s Virgil and the Accelerators are an impressive high-energy blues rock power trio with influences that include Joe Bonamassa, Stevie Ray Vaughan and Jimi Hendrix.

For example, a little Bonamassa…

…a little Stevie Ray,

…and a little Hendrix.

VATA will release their 1st full lenght CD in September of this year. You can listen to Track #1, “Working Man” on their website here. It’s worth a listen. If the rest of the record is anything like this track, it’s destined to be a favorite for folks like me who miss the early days of Joe Bonamassa. Hard to believe the average age of this band is just a touch under 19 (18, 17 and 21). Check ’em out!

Some times the Working Man track on VATA’s website doesn’t load up right away.  It’s well worth your time to mess aroud with it until it does…trust me! 

8 thoughts on “Turn It Up Tuesday!

  1. torqdog says:

    First impressions are these guys do rock and are definitely doing good copies of Joe’s Ft Wayne gig but that’s just it, where’s the originals? I don’t think you can advance too far doing note for note renditions of someone else’s monster interpretation of the Hendrix classic or other tunes Joe made a name for himself by making them his original ……. copies.

    I didn’t have time this am to spin the track off the upcoming CD you supplied so I’ll give that a whirl tonight and see if my first impression changes much.

  2. Stu says:

    I believe their CD is all original material. I just grabbed some live covers off youtube. Definitely check out that track and let me know what you think.

    • torqdog says:

      OK, I just gave Working Man a spin and am definitely impressed. Virgil really knows how to get that sound out of his axe and I definitely hear predominantly early Bonamassa influences in his style among others. But he definitely does have the vibe and sounds more mature than an 18 year old. I guess it must have been a pinnacle gig playing with Joanne Shaw Taylor in support of Black Country Communion.

      • esarsea says:

        Yeah, I really like that song a lot. Let’s hope their JB influences remain early JB, and they stay as far away as possible from producers that might round off their edge. We’re got enough smooth blues guys (think Robben Ford et al). Not that I dislike Robben Ford, I just like my blues and blues rock to be a little less polished, and a little more raw and visceral.

        I’m really looking forward to hearing the entire CD.

  3. dagoddess says:

    I’m at the point where I’m not sure what I think of younger artists anymore, especially when I hear them doing covers. Technically, very good. I’d have to hear their originals to see how well they do with fresh material.

    For instance, while I love Joanne Shaw Taylor, I sometimes get tired of hearing all her influences in her playing. I keep waiting for HER to show herself, you know? I’ve seen her live and enjoyed the show, but by the second set, I really wanted to hear less Page, less Bonamassa, less SRV, and more purity in her playing. That said, she’s very good at knockin’ out the tunes with a lot of passion…it’s just no longer enough for me.

    Signed,
    Weary and Jaded

  4. Sandy says:

    So loving this CD – amazing how far they have come in a couple of years.

  5. billie789 says:

    I just got through trying to say the same thing about another female player here on the blog. I hear the familiar licks, even some hint of technique, but overall it’s another knock-off person to me. Where’s the beef?

Leave a Reply

Categories

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,068 BS BLOG visits to date
