Turn It Up Tuesday! (Special Weekend Edition)

4

July 22, 2011 by esarsea

This week’s Turn It Up Tuesday! artist, Begorrah, has introduced me to a new genre – I’m just not sure what genre (or subgenre) to call it. Celtic Punk Rock? Hard Celtic Punk? Celtic Punk Metal? Alternative Celtic Rock? I may not know what to call it, but what I do know is that I like it! 

The artists performing on this album include Shane O’Conner on guitar and vocals, Kevin “Bocko” Corrigan on vocals, and a couple guys whose names you may recognize: Eric Czar on bass, and Kenny Kramme on drums!!!

That’s right – the world’s most dangerous rhythm section is back together again – at least for this project. Begorrah’s new/debut album Molly B’Gee is available on iTunes and here on Amazon.com.

There are no Youtube videos to post here, but you can preview all songs at the Amazon link above, and you can hear 3 cuts in their entirety on Begorrah’s (still under construction) website here.

Enjoy, and Turn It Up!

4 thoughts on “Turn It Up Tuesday! (Special Weekend Edition)

  1. torqdog says:

    I could easily envision table dancing in some tucked away Irish pub with all the drunks singing along.

    Interesting find Stu. I can’t say that it’s something I’m gonna spin in the cave but it’s nice to see Kenny and Eric out and about again.

  2. Sandy says:

    You are in the northwest, correct? Have you ever heard the Dropkick Murphys? Very similar type of stuff. They are a Boston institution and have been for years. They are very beloved in the Red Sox/Bruins fan base, my husband watches their very rowdy DVD on a regular basis (taped during their St. Patrick’s Day run at Boston HOB a couple of years ago). We are actually going to see them play at Fenway Park in September (putting the stage on the bullpen, everyone sits in the bleachers, which is very cool since in Boston all the REAL Red Sox fans sit in the bleachers don’t ya know). Should be a very raucous night.

    Cool that Eric and Kenny are doing some stuff together. I do miss that era on occassion.

    • esarsea says:

      Yes, NW born and raised. I’ve heard the Dropkick Murphys and they were ok, but didn’t really grab me. I think what I like about Begorrah is the occasional outbreaks into metal…

  3. Becky says:

    Cool. Me likes it, with me Irish/Scottish ancestry. Actually, the clips I heard on Amazon were too metal-ish for me. I’ll have to hear more, but I like the idea. Yay for Eric and Kenny!

Leave a Reply

Categories

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,099 BS BLOG visits to date
