Turn It Up Tuesday?

2

July 26, 2011 by esarsea

The 27 Club gained a new member this past weekend with the passing of popular British singer/songwriter Amy Winehouse.

Truth to be told, prior to Amy’s death I would not have known her music if I heard it. I may have recognized some of her songs, but I wouldn’t have been able to tell you who the artist was.

I’ve learned more about her in the last 48 hours than I really cared to learn. Not because I lack interest in such things, but rather because it’s heartbreaking to see yet another young talent lost to drugs and alcohol. In my mind her death is no less tragic because it resulted from her addictions and deamons. Quite the contrary…that’s exactly why it is so tragic.

My my, hey hey
Rock and roll is here to stay
It’s better to burn out
Than to fade away
My my, hey hey.

Out of the blue
and into the black
They give you this,
but you pay for that
And once you’re gone,
you can never come back
When you’re out of the blue
and into the black.

The king is gone
but he’s not forgotten
This is the story
of a Johnny Rotten
It’s better to burn out
than it is to rust
The king is gone
but he’s not forgotten.

Hey hey, my my
Rock and roll can never die
There’s more to the picture
Than meets the eye.
Hey hey, my my.

— Neil Young/Out of The Blue

I’ve searched through youtube for clips of what I thought were good songs or performances, and I haven’t really found anything that grabbed me. If you’re a fan and/or know of any good clips, feel free to post them in the comment section. I’ll let this be a reader-powered Turn It Up Tuesday…

2 thoughts on “Turn It Up Tuesday?

  1. torqdog says:

    Yeah, I could never get behind her music. She was interesting to watch but her lyrics were almost indistiguishable behind the faux drunken slur that was her trademark. Maybe it wasn’t “faux”.

    Non-the-less these tragedies suck no matter what the reason. Substance abuse has taken far far too many bright shining lights from the music world and this one is no less important.

  2. Becky says:

    I’m with you guys. Her name was vaguely familiar and I might have heard some songs. Judging from the pictures, I’m guessing I wouldn’t be impressed. Tragic circumstances, yes. I’ll have to learn more about her to decide if I’m sad.

Leave a Reply

Categories

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,054 BS BLOG visits to date
