One

8

December 22, 2011 by esarsea

I thought I had posted this before – but if I did, I can’t seem to find it using the search feature. Then again there are nearly 400 posts here since August 2008, so maybe I’m just missing it. Either way, it’s worth a repost.

I like some of U2’s stuff but I wouldn’t consider myself a huge fan. I’m even less of a Mary J. Blige fan. I don’t dislike her (in fact I have a lot of respect for her and what she has accomplished, coming from a tough childhood). I’m just not a big fan of Hip-Hop. That being said however, this video is pure magic. The power, the emotion, the passion, the presentation and the message combine to create an amazing moment in music.

Here’s U2 with Mary j. Blige performing U2’s hit, ‘One.’ It’s a VEVO video so you may have to click through to youtube and/or watch an advertisement to get to it, but it’s well worth it. Crank this one up, and enjoy!

8 thoughts on “One

  1. David King says:

    Stu,
    My Brother……..
    As soon as I saw the title of today’s blog comment I knew exactly what you were going to say.
    Powerful, Sexy one of my all time “Hey…..have you ever watched this?” Brought tears to my eyes the first time and sometimes still does. If ya don’t like it………ya ain’t payin’ it no attention as far as I am concerned.

    • esarsea says:

      “My brother from a different mother.” We are cut from the same cloth on a number of levels. Hope the Holidays find you well, I’ll call you sometime in the next week or so.

  2. David King says:

    First of all……I distinctly hear her scream MY name and secondly………Merry Christmas!
    Thank GOD it’s almost over.

    Deuce

  3. Bill says:

    Very, very nice, Stu! I live with a huge U-2 devotee, like a Deadhead, but much better personal hygiene. Las Vegas, Salt Lake City, Honolulu she goes with sisters and friends to see these guys and this duet is a cult fav with fans and casual listeners alike.

    And as I ‘cranked it’ when she walked by in her robe carrying a laundry basket just now, she looked dismissively over at me and said,”Oh, yeah, ‘HE’ did a set of duets recently,” like we were speaking of deity. “I told you my sister Nan lent me the CD. . .didn’t you hear me when I told you I had the Bono-duet-cd? That reminds me, I need to order one for myself. . .Nan wants hers back,” and wandered into the laundry room.

Leave a Reply

Categories

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,099 BS BLOG visits to date
