A New Look For The New Year

16

January 15, 2012 by esarsea

I thought it was time to change things up a bit to coincide with the new year (and our new domain name, www.thebsblog.net). It’s somewhat reminiscent of our original black theme, but a little cleaner and easier to read than that one was.

Maybe the temporary novelty of our fresh look will encourage Bill and Randy to come back and start posting again (hint-hint). I think they’ve grown to prefer the more interactive and dynamic exchanges of Facebook…

16 thoughts on “A New Look For The New Year

  1. torqdog says:

    This new look is OK……. a little hard on the eyes at first with the smaller text but like anything new, it’ll take some getting used to. I think I like it. It will definitely be a much better format than the previous one come next December when the snowflakes begin to fall.

    To be honest Stu regarding this blog vs. facebook……… facebook is soooooo much easier to post on than what we have to go through here. Whether it be uploading photos or just starting a new thread, it’s a rather burdensome process comparitively. Responding to posts is easy enough but even then, when my response is more than a couple of paragraphs, things start going whacky with the “logout/change” bar below this text field starts to drift up into my post. This causes me to have to stop, go ahead and post what I’ve written thus far and complete my thoughts by hitting “edit” and finishing up there. I will say that this post right here doesn’t seem to be suffering from that problem. Maybe the new format helped in that regard.

  2. esarsea says:

    I agree, Facebook is fast and easy to use, and the feedback comes almost immediately. This place is more cumbersome and static. That being said though, I think they’re different animals.

    A blog is like someone standing behind a podium, making a presentation to a group of people. Facebook is like the casual conversations taking place in the audience before the presentation begins.

  3. esarsea says:

    You know, this looked a lot better on my home monitor than it does it work…much harder to read here. May have to change it again…

  4. esarsea says:

    Changed it again. This one seems much easier to read, while still retaining the dark background….

    • torqdog says:

      Definitely less eyestrain.

    • torqdog says:

      It also appears that the edit button is missing. I wanted to ammend my last comment to include the fact that I feel the print is still on the small side causing me to really have to focus even with my reading glasses on.

  5. Bill says:

    It looks good. Quite a bit different, but interesting and clean.

    I vacillate with Facebook, honestly. It’s mostly about staying easily in touch with my extended family and former work colleagues, etc. But I’ve been done with politics on FB for nearly a year. There’s really nothing to say about the current embarassing mess we call D.C. It’s out of control and no one is going to ‘win’ anything except the right to be villified on a partisan stage for the next four years regardless of which party prevails. And, frankly, I’m sick of it.

    I’ve been awkwardly blocked and dropped as a friend on FB for political talk or just having an opinion on something that ran counter to those people’s beliefs. And I’ve had scads of people I don’t even know wanting to friend me for the same chatter that caused others indigestion. My own brother unfriended me over comments I made about the 5 year failure rate of AA and 12-Step, in general, being about 95% or how you replace one addiction with addictions-for-meetings in its place. Because most of his FB friends were from his AA meetings, I was silently blocked that day. What was really funny is he sliently blocked our sister, too, because she agreed with some of my comments. So, when my sis announced a family reunion at her house through Facebook last year, my brother didn’t get the notice. But he heard about it through family on FB and confronted my sister on why he wasn’t invited. She said that she put notice out through Facebook, didn’t he see it? Neither of us had let on that we knew he had unfriended both of us. So, we had fun with him at the reunion. “Hey, buddy, so sorry, we didn’t know you werent’ notified on FB! What happened? Everyone else in sis’s FB friends list got the notice!”

    Ahahahahahaha! He had to confess to everyone in the room what he had done and why. The same family members he had been complaining to all week, on FB, that he hadn’t been invited!

    Eat it, lil bro! Eat it raw!

    • esarsea says:

      Eat it Raw!

      Rah, rah rah! That’s the spirits we have here – ok? – So come on kids…Line up. Sign up. And re-enlist today because we need more schooling, for more students, for Morse Science High.

  6. Bill says:

    Yeah, I hadn’t thought of that connection and that’s a bit scary, really. I listened to Firesign Theater nearly 40 years ago and the better lines are still with me! Pass the 30weight!

  7. torqdog says:

    “Holy mackerel Mudhead” Porgie Tirebiter, 1970?

  8. torqdog says:

    “There’s Hamburger all over the highway in Mystic, Conneticut”

  9. esarsea says:

    Rocky Rococo at your cervix…

Leave a Reply

Categories

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,054 BS BLOG visits to date
