January 2012 Winter Storm Images

5

January 23, 2012 by esarsea

We got hit with a nasty Winter snow and ice storm here last week. It’s not unusual for this type of weather to hit our mountains and/or some parts of Central and Eastern Washington, but it’s rather uncommon here in the Puget Sound Region. Some folks (including some of my co-workers) are still without power, now going on 5 days. At one point there were over 250,000 without electricity, including our office, as the ice took out the powerlines and/or caused trees to fall over powerlines.

My apologies for the quality of these images. My cell phone has only a 1.3 megapixel camera so the photos are not the best. That being said, you can click on the photos to see larger images.

Here the snow begins…

The next day brought freezing rain. Here’s a bush directly behind our office:

And finally, here are some images taken later that day and evening on the way home. I still wish I had a decent camera with me, but you get the idea…

I don’t know about you, but I’m looking forward to Spring!

5 thoughts on “January 2012 Winter Storm Images

  1. torqdog says:

    WOW! That looks like the real deal there Stu. I’ve never experienced freezing rain before and just looking at those photos make me realize that I never want to either. It’s kinda interesting………..while you were having your bout with old man winter, we had another fire in which 29 homes went up in smoke. As soon as I finish lunch I’m headed up to survey the damage. I recognized a few of the homes in newsclips that burnt down as ones I have done service tech work on before.

    • esarsea says:

      It does make driving interesting, that ‘s for sure. You think SNOW is slick sometimes, this stuff (especially when it starts to warm up just enough to but a thin film of water on top of it) is absolutely treacherous. It’s next to impossibe to WALK on…

      From watching this video I found, it sounds like your fire was really wind-driven! Those can be very scary. I fought forest fires for the state for 2 Summers when I was younger, so I can relate.

      http://www.kolotv.com/video/?autoStart=true&topVideoCatNo=default&clipId=6656437

      • torqdog says:

        Yep……..wind driven is an understatement. Winds were clocked at 82 mph in Washoe valley that day. The sign behind the police officer and car says Old Washoe Estates. That’s where we lost 5 houses. I went in there today and it’s pretty depressing. Odd thing was a house with a tile roof burnt right next to a house with a shake roof that didn’t. Go figure!

  2. esarsea says:

    82 mph? Wow! Very dangerous stuff.

  3. Bill says:

    Yeah. . .those photos? We call that ‘Thursday’ or ‘Sunday afternoon’ in Utah. The weather you are experiencing is normally supposed to ride the jet stream down from the Northwest and dump on us, but this year, due to “forces” of nature that have nothing, absolutely nothing to do with global climate change, honest it doesn’t and I can prove it, have forced a high pressure system to sit over Utah for 3 months now, forcing weather to go around us into Wyoming and down through Colorado, where it blitzes Denver. Cow farts, that’s all, just cow farts.

Leave a Reply

Categories

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,117 BS BLOG visits to date
