Merry Christmas

6

December 20, 2012 by esarsea

The Roger Whittaker Christmas Album was never part of my childhood; those years were dominated by Mom’s Ray Conniff records. From the mid-70’s on however, whenever I would go home home for Christmas, Roger Whittaker would be playing on my parent’s modest stereo. This record grew to become synonymous with the warmth of being “home” for Christmas.  

The holidays are still a little rough for me. I searched for this album on Youtube and clicked “play” — knowing full well that given the space I was in, it would elicit a tear…which it did within the first few familiar notes. Not sure why I did it now, as with it came the images of Mom dead on her kitchen floor a year ago last October, with me pointlessly covering her with a warm blanket. Not too far from where Dad died in his bed several years before. Maybe it’s strangely cathartic. Doubtful. Who knows. I guess it really doesn’t matter.

Is it overkill for me to post the entire album here? Clearly. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go listen to it again.

6 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. Sandy says:

    When I was a kid it was Perry Como’s Christmas album (which I recently reacquired on vinyl. As I got a little older EmmyLou Harris’s song “Light of the Stable” became my Christmas song “for my Dad” who I lost over 25 years ago – still makes me cry every time I hear it. I am sorry about your Mom – I am lucky I still have mine. Christmas is for family.

    • esarsea says:

      Thanks Sandy. You know, I think Perry Como’s Christmas album was among my parent’s collection as well, along with Bing Crosby’s “White Christmas.”

  2. Bill says:

    Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays everyone-

  3. torqdog says:

    Yeah Stu……… this is the first Christmas that I find myself parentless. I’ve had this empty feeling in my heart for days now. Hopefully time will do it’s part in healing but I’m afraid that this Christmas will be full of thoughts of Christmases past.

    My folks never really played Christmas records as I think they didn’t want to be bothered with having to flip or change the LP every 20 or so minutes. They would simply tune in an FM radio station playing Christmas music of all types. I’ve been doing the same thing while driving around the past month. Something about Christmas music at the holidays that lifts ones spirit.

    Merry Christmas to all ya all.

    • RockinRon says:

      Christmas is time of reflecting, and remembering happy times. My Father has been gone 10 years now, and I sure felt his guidence last weekend, when I had tore into my Mazda, to upgrade the headlights to HID. We shared a lot of great times, out in the garage, fixing one car or another. Great Bonding Time. Yes, Randy, time does some healing, but very slowly.
      Merry Christmas Randy and Viv!

      RockinRon

  4. {{{Hugs, Stu}}}

    Thanks for posting the whole album. It certain does call to mind a simpler time; a time when none of us could ever imagine ourselves in this moment.

    Merry Christmas, everyone!

Leave a Reply

Categories

December 2012
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 148,055 BS BLOG visits to date
