A New Look For The New Year

5

December 29, 2012 by esarsea

I thought it was time to change our look again. Our new look features WordPress’s ‘Grisaille’ theme. It’s a little easier to read, and a little easier on the eyes. Not sure if it’s a keeper yet, but for now I kind of like it.

It may prompt a little more participation as well, with the appreviated post on the main page. Previously, one could read the entire post without clicking on the ‘comment’ link. With this layout, readers are already on the comment page if they opt to read the entire post – which may lead to more comments.

What’s your opinion?

5 thoughts on “A New Look For The New Year

  1. torqdog says:

    Cool! It is a little easier on the eyes and seems to be a bit more stable on my computer. I like the fact that an “edit” tab is supplied with each post rather than having to scroll to the top and open the whole conversation like in the other format. Much, much easier!

    One minor “seasonal” issue is the fact that your snowflakes pretty much disappear into the background. Again, it’s a VERY minor issue AFAIC.

    I do have an unrelated question……… why is it that I find that every two weeks or so I need to re-enter my user name and password. This is the ONLY forum that bumps me off the chart and it’s kind of a PITA!

    Happy New Year everyone!

  2. esarsea says:

    I don’t have an answer for that question…I’ve noticed the same thing myself and I agree, it is annoying. I’ll see if it’s been a topic of discussion on the help forums. As for the seasonal snowflakes, I think I’m going to turn them off. They were kind of novel for the first couple years, but now they’re getting tiresome.

    • esarsea says:

      One blogger posted a similar question on the forum, and one of the moderators replied:

      “If people have “cookies” enabled on their computer, and they don’t have their preferences set to delete all cookies when they shut down their browser, WordPress will remember them and fill out the username, email address and website for them. WordPress uses cookies to “remember” them. All the blogs I comment on remember me unless I clear my cookies, then I have to reenter the information.”

      I don’t have my browser set to clear cookies when it is shut down, but as mentioned I still find that my login is cleared out every so often on WordPress too…but not on other websites. I do clear my temporary internet files every so often for performance reasons, not sure if that contributes to the problem. Other possibilities include maybe your/my antivirus programs clear out this particlar cookie during regularly scheduled scans?

  3. Bill says:

    I like a change and this is super clean, if not a bit sterile. I miss some color, I’ll admit and we talk about colorful things like music and politics and culture, etc.

    I don’t know, feels a bit cold, but maybe that’s because it’s 20 degrees outside and it’s noon. ;-(

    • esarsea says:

      I agree, it is a bit sterile. There are some text color and background options we can play with. When time allows I’m going to get in there and experiment a little.

Leave a Reply

Categories

December 2012
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 147,999 BS BLOG visits to date
